India has 2,293 Political Parties

149 Registered Between January To March

Indian Political Parties

India has 2,293 Political Parties, 149 Registered Between January To March, Some of the recently registered 149 parties. “Bharosa Party”, “Sabsi Badi Party”, and “Rashtriya Saaf Niti Party” are some of the 2,300- odd political parties that India has on the eve of the 2019 general elections. Bahujan Azad Party from Sitamarhi in Bihar, Samoohik Ekta Party from Kanpur in Uttar Pradesh, Rashtryia Saaf Niti Party from Jaipur, Rajasthan, Sabsi Badi Party, Delhi, Bharosa Party from Telengana and New Generation People’s Party from Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu.

The Election Commission of India’s latest data on political parties, registered till March 9, a day before the Lok Sabha elections were announced, reveal that the country is having a total of 2,293 political parties. They include seven “recognised national” and 59 “recognised state” parties.

Till February this year, the country had 2,143 political parties registered with the Commission, with 58 of them getting registered ahead of the assembly polls in Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Telengana, Mizoram and Chhattisgarh during November-Deember last year.

They have to choose from a list of ”free symbols” issued by the poll panel. According to the latest EC circular, there are 84 such free symbols available currently. To become a recognised political party either at the state or national level, a party has to secure certain minimum percentage of polled valid votes or certain number of seats in the state legislative assembly or the Lok Sabha during the last election.

The EC had found that some of the parties were “no longer in existence or functioning”. While the poll watchdog has the mandate to register a political party, the electoral laws denies it the power to deregister any party.

Leave a Reply